Run Flat Tyres.

Run Flat Tyres.

Postby Tweed » 14 Jun 2017, 11:00

Hi all, having got my first BMW 6 months ago I'm a newbie to this forum so bear with me if I ask something that has gone before.
I had a '62 plate A6 Audi Avant which I traded in for this '64 plate 330d X Drive Touring for no other reason than we bought a caravan! (I know .. L- .. but I'm an old fart now!)
Needless to say it yanks it along as though it's not there and is remarkably good on fuel. I know your only supposed to do 50 but sod that, I may not be boy racer but I'm not that much of an old git either.
It took a bit of getting used to after the Audi ... the non-latching indicator switch and intermittent wiper control being the most 'annoying' but nothing serious.
The only thing that really gets to me is the noisy bloody run-flat's! Unfortunately there's plenty of meat still on them, but I want to change over to tubeless when the time comes.
So ..... has any body out there made the change and what to. Looking on Black Circles the Avon ZZ5 appeals ... and they're made in the UK!

Tweed
Tweed
BMW Enthusiast

Car model: Late 2014 330d Xdrive Touring.

Re: Run Flat Tyres.

Postby M60NJP » 14 Jun 2017, 11:27

Loads of us have ditched RFTs - you have to acknowledge the absence of a spare and either but a space-saver (big money) or rely on a tin of tyreweld, a compressor and/or recovery!

I'm not an Avon fan as they tended to be noisy when part-wor when I had them on a non-BMW. Falken have always been popular but Kumho, Toyo, Uniroyale etc all seem OK.

Us old gits have to stick together!
M60NJP
Site Owner

Car model: 135i M Sport
Isetta 300

Postby RayB » 14 Jun 2017, 11:37

60mph on Dual carriageways and Motorways when towing :thumbup:
RayB
Site Owner

Car model: 1998 E36 M3 Convertible

Postby Tweed » 14 Jun 2017, 12:56

I'm with you M60NJP on old gits ...we don't moan any more than anyone else, we've just been round the block more times and have more things to 'comment' on!